Study of geometric integrators for differential equations

Gilles Vilmart 1, 2
1 IPSO - Invariant Preserving SOlvers
Inria Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique , IRMAR - Institut de Recherche Mathématique de Rennes
Abstract : The aim of the work described in this thesis is the construction and the study of structure-preserving numerical integrators for differential equations, which share some geometric properties of the exact flow, for instance symmetry, symplecticity of Hamiltonian systems, preservation of first integrals, Poisson structure, etc.
In the first part, we introduce a new approach to high-order structure-preserving numerical integrators, inspired by the theory of modified equations (backward error analysis). We focus on the class of B-series methods for which a new composition law called substitution law is introduced. This approach is illustrated with the derivation of the Preprocessed Discrete Moser-Veselov algorithm, an efficient and high-order geometric integrator for the motion of a rigid body. We also obtain an accurate integrator for the computation of conjugate points in rigid body geodesics.
In the second part, we study to which extent the excellent performance of symplectic integrators for long-time integrations in astronomy and molecular dynamics carries over to problems in optimal control. We also discuss whether the theory of backward error analysis can be extended to symplectic integrators for optimal control.
The third part is devoted to splitting methods. In the spirit of modified equations, we consider splitting methods for perturbed Hamiltonian systems that involve modified potentials. Finally, we construct splitting methods involving complex coefficients for parabolic partial differential equations with special attention to reaction-diffusion problems in chemistry.
Document type :
Theses
Mathematics [math]. Université Rennes 1; University of Geneva, 2008. English


https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00348112
Contributor : Gilles Vilmart <>
Submitted on : Wednesday, December 17, 2008 - 5:15:44 PM
Last modification on : Wednesday, July 29, 2015 - 1:29:09 AM

Identifiers

  • HAL Id : tel-00348112, version 1

Collections

Citation

Gilles Vilmart. Study of geometric integrators for differential equations. Mathematics [math]. Université Rennes 1; University of Geneva, 2008. English. <tel-00348112>

Export

Share

Metrics

Consultation de
la notice

239

Téléchargement du document

189

Study of geometric integrators for differential equations

Gilles Vilmart 1, 2
1 IPSO - Invariant Preserving SOlvers
IRMAR - Institut de Recherche Mathématique de Rennes, Inria Rennes – Bretagne Atlantique
Résumé : Le sujet de la thèse est l'étude et la construction de méthodes numériques géométriques pour les équations différentielles, qui préservent des propriétés géométriques du flot exact, notamment la symétrie, la symplecticité des systèmes hamiltoniens, la conservation d'intégrales premières, la structure de Poisson, etc.
Dans la première partie, on introduit une nouvelle approche de construction d'intégrateurs numériques géométriques d'ordre élevé en s'inspirant de la théorie des équations différentielles modifiées. Le cas des méthodes développables en B-séries est spécifiquement analysé et on introduit une nouvelle loi de composition sur les B-séries. L'efficacité de cette approche est illustrée par la construction d'un nouvel intégrateur géométrique d'ordre élevé pour les équations du mouvement d'un corps rigide. On obtient également une méthode numérique précise pour le calcul de points conjugués pour les géodésiques du corps rigide.
Dans la seconde partie, on étudie dans quelle mesure les excellentes performances des méthodes symplectiques, pour l'intégration à long terme en astronomie et en dynamique moléculaire, persistent pour les problèmes de contrôle optimal. On discute également l'extension de la théorie des équations modifiées aux problèmes de contrôle optimal.
Dans le même esprit que les équations modifiées, on considère dans la dernière partie des méthodes de pas fractionnaire (splitting) pour les systèmes hamiltoniens perturbés, utilisant des potentiels modifiés. On termine par la construction de méthodes de splitting d'ordre élevé avec temps complexes pour les équations aux dérivées partielles paraboliques, notamment les problèmes de réaction-diffusion en chimie.
Type de document :
Thèse
Mathematics [math]. Université Rennes 1; University of Geneva, 2008. English
Liste complète des métadonnées

Littérature citée [83 références]  Voir  Masquer  Télécharger

https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00348112
Contributeur : Gilles Vilmart <>
Soumis le : mercredi 17 décembre 2008 - 17:15:44
Dernière modification le : vendredi 16 novembre 2018 - 01:31:23
Document(s) archivé(s) le : jeudi 11 octobre 2012 - 14:00:30

Identifiants

  • HAL Id : tel-00348112, version 1

Citation

Gilles Vilmart. Study of geometric integrators for differential equations. Mathematics [math]. Université Rennes 1; University of Geneva, 2008. English. 〈tel-00348112〉

Partager

Métriques

Consultations de la notice

674

Téléchargements de fichiers

732