Effets de petites échelles, du tenseur des contraintes, des conditions au fond et à la surface sur les équations de Saint-Venant

Carine Lucas 1
1 MOISE - Modelling, Observations, Identification for Environmental Sciences
Inria Grenoble - Rhône-Alpes, Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble (INPG), LJK - Laboratoire Jean Kuntzmann
Abstract : In a first part, we present some Shallow Water equations. About the actual model, we firstly remark that, depending on the link between the viscosity and the aspect ratio, keeping the complete Coriolis force expression is essential: this gives a new model, with a so-called "cosine effect". We then show that the proofs of existence of weak solutions can be adapted to this new system. Numerical simulations of some waves underline the fact that this term is of importance. Next we study the influence of the limit conditions (surface, bottom) on Shallow-Water type models. We also present some models obtained using multiple scales in space and time. Finally we analyze a new model of sedimentation from a theoretical and numerical point of view and then we give some results for visco-plastic fluids.
In a second part, we are interested in the limit equation, namely the Quasi-Geostrophic (QG) equations and the lake equations. The numerical study of the 2d QG equations enables us to emphasize the role of the cosine effect from the Coriolis force. Depending on the topography we consider, we show that this effect can turn out to be not negligible. Still about the QG equations, we give a numerical scheme, based on asymptotic developments, which capture the boundary layer well and also give the opportunity to add a topography term to the solution for a flat bottom, without re-computing everything. Lastly we explain how to get the lake equations with cosine effect and we prove that the properties of existence of solutions to such equations are still valid.
Document type :
Theses
Mathematics [math]. Université Joseph-Fourier - Grenoble I, 2007. French


https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00196883
Contributor : Carine Lucas <>
Submitted on : Thursday, December 13, 2007 - 5:20:51 PM
Last modification on : Tuesday, February 26, 2013 - 2:27:25 PM

Identifiers

  • HAL Id : tel-00196883, version 1

Collections

Citation

Carine Lucas. Effets de petites échelles, du tenseur des contraintes, des conditions au fond et à la surface sur les équations de Saint-Venant. Mathematics [math]. Université Joseph-Fourier - Grenoble I, 2007. French. <tel-00196883>

Export

Share

Metrics

Consultation de
la notice

172

Téléchargement du document

122

Skip to Main content Skip to Navigation
Theses

Effets de petites échelles, du tenseur des contraintes, des conditions au fond et à la surface sur les équations de Saint-Venant

Carine Lucas 1
1 MOISE - Modelling, Observations, Identification for Environmental Sciences
Inria Grenoble - Rhône-Alpes, LJK [2007-2015] - Laboratoire Jean Kuntzmann [2007-2015], Grenoble INP [2007-2019] - Institut polytechnique de Grenoble - Grenoble Institute of Technology [2007-2019]
Résumé : Dans une première partie, nous présentons des équations de Saint-Venant. Sur le modèle proprement dit, nous remarquons tout d'abord que, suivant le lien entre la viscosité et le rapport des échelles caractéristiques, il est indispensable de conserver l'expression complète de la force de Coriolis : nous obtenons ainsi un nouveau modèle, avec un "effet cosinus". Nous montrons alors que les preuves d'existence de solutions faibles peuvent être adaptées à ce nouveau système. Des simulations numériques de certaines ondes soulignent l'importance de ce terme. Nous étudions ensuite l'influence des conditions limites (surface, fond) sur des modèles de type Saint-Venant. Nous présentons également des modèles obtenus en utilisant des échelles multiples en espace et en temps. Enfin, nous analysons théoriquement et numériquement un nouveau modèle de sédimentation puis nous donnons certains résultats pour les fluides visco-plastiques.
Dans une deuxième partie, nous nous intéressons aux équations limites que sont les équations quasi-géostrophiques (QG) et les équations des lacs. L'étude numérique des équations QG 2d nous permet de voir le rôle de l'effet cosinus de la force de Coriolis. En fonction de la topographie considérée, nous montrons que celui-ci peut être non négligeable. Toujours sur les équations QG, nous donnons un schéma, basé sur des développements asymptotiques, qui permet de bien capter la couche limite mais aussi d'ajouter le terme de topographie à la solution obtenue avec fond plat, sans refaire tous les calculs. Enfin, nous expliquons l'obtention des équations des lacs avec effet cosinus, et nous prouvons que les propriétés d'existence de solutions restent valables.
Document type :
Theses
Complete list of metadatas

https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00196883
Contributor : Carine Lucas <>
Submitted on : Thursday, December 13, 2007 - 5:20:51 PM
Last modification on : Friday, July 17, 2020 - 11:38:57 AM
Document(s) archivé(s) le : Thursday, September 27, 2012 - 11:17:10 AM

Identifiers

  • HAL Id : tel-00196883, version 1

Collections

Citation

Carine Lucas. Effets de petites échelles, du tenseur des contraintes, des conditions au fond et à la surface sur les équations de Saint-Venant. Mathématiques [math]. Université Joseph-Fourier - Grenoble I, 2007. Français. ⟨tel-00196883⟩

Share

Metrics

Record views

478

Files downloads

330