Épistémè du partage

Abstract : The positions of the researcher expressed here are a response to epistemological doubt and methodological difficulties. The epistemological doubt arises from the conceptual blur that surrounds the term "anthropology"; the methodological difficulties are caused by the operationalizing - in my work on memory – of certain concepts inherited by the discipline, in particular those that concern the molar tropism of the social sciences. The argument is developed in three parts.
First, I deal, essentially, with the presentation of my epistemic posture. To assert such a posture supposes, at least, a theory of the discipline. After a critical inventory of the concurrent theories, I develop mine, by defending the idea that general anthropology has its own object: forms of sharing. At the same time, I resolve my epistemological doubt. After expressing my theoretical standpoint, the two additional parts of this paper are devoted to the ontology and epistemology of the object of general anthropology.
In the second part, entitled Fictions of the sharing?, I partially resolve my methodological difficulties. In four sections, I specify the way in which we anthropologists work on our object (forms of sharing). At the same time, I describe the "manufacture" of the concepts that are suppose to define forms of sharing (e.g., "collective memory", "cultural identity", "community", etc.) and their use within the rhetorical framework of sharing. From these two points of view (manufacture and use), the relevance of the concepts is far from obvious. This justifies the interrogative title given to this part of the paper. In fact, I adress the following thesis: if rhetoric specific to anthropological science maintains the fictions of sharing, it sometimes happens that it authorizes and ontologizes the sharing of fictions, although this tendency is currently opposed by the vast movement of the rehabilitation of the singular which today occupies our discipline.
In the third and last part, entitled Sharing of fictions, I explore more systematically this thesis, but from the point of view of common speech. I try to identify some of the objective and subjective conditions of sharing, by assessing hypotheses relating to the degree of relevance of holistic rhetorics. I deliberately excluded from my examination phenomena as important as language or a common history shared by the members of a group. I prefer the more hazardous route of exploring the methods of shared cognition under the effects of the following variables: size of the groups, the role of the “protomemory”, density of the public representations, intensity of the interactions and the permeability to doubt.
My principal thesis is that representations of sharing are increasingly more generous than real sharing. However, in a nominal group, this belief in sharing can become an objective clue of sharing, precisely when it is a shared belief. This belief supposes the use of a criterion of resemblance, essential cognitive resource at the time of any perception of sharing and not-sharing, whether the sharing or not-sharing is real or not. For this reason, it is important to imagine research programs that will make it possible to better understand the nature of this resource. This type of exercise poses many problems, the majority of which remain unresolved. Nevertheless, these problems open up many prospective avenues for research in cognitive anthropology which I explore at the end of this third part.
Document type :
Habilitation à diriger des recherches
Social Anthropology and ethnology. Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, 1999


https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00139992
Contributor : Joël Candau <>
Submitted on : Wednesday, April 4, 2007 - 1:37:18 PM
Last modification on : Wednesday, April 4, 2007 - 4:35:46 PM

Identifiers

  • HAL Id : tel-00139992, version 1

Collections

Citation

Joël Candau. Épistémè du partage. Social Anthropology and ethnology. Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, 1999. <tel-00139992>

Export

Share

Metrics

Consultation de
la notice

208

Téléchargement du document

193

Épistémè du partage

Résumé : Les positions de recherche exposées sous ce titre sont une réponse à un doute épistémologique et à un embarras méthodologique. Le doute épistémologique est né des difficultés que, dans mes enseignements, j'ai parfois rencontrées pour définir l'anthropologie ; l'embarras méthodologique a été provoqué par le caractère faiblement opératoire - dans mes travaux sur la mémoire - de certains concepts hérités de la discipline, en particulier ceux qui relèvent du tropisme molaire des sciences humaines et sociales.

L'argumentation est développée en trois parties. La première partie du mémoire est consacrée, pour l'essentiel, à la présentation de ma posture épistémique. Revendiquer une telle posture suppose, au minimum, une théorie de la discipline. Je développe cette théorie dans cette première partie, en défendant l'idée que l'anthropologie générale a un objet qui lui est propre : le partage. Du même coup, je dissipe mon doute épistémologique. Je le fais en répondant à la question suivante : quelle est la raison d'être de l'anthropologie ? Je soutiens qu'elle a vocation à expliciter les circonstances au premier abord toujours mystérieuses qui font que le lien social se noue (ou se dénoue) entre des individus, permettant alors l'émergence d'une culture, d'une société ou, plus modestement, de tel ou tel phénomène culturel. Ce moment-là, c'est celui du partage.

Après la prise de position théorique qui est l'objet de toute la première partie, c'est à l'ontologie et à l'épistémologie de l'objet de l'anthropologie générale, à ce qu'il est et à ce qu'on peut en connaître, que sont consacrées les deux autres parties du mémoire. Dans la deuxième partie, intitulée Fictions du partage ?, je lève (partiellement) mon embarras méthodologique. En effet, en quatre chapitres, j'y précise la manière dont nous, anthropologues, travaillons sur notre objet : le partage. J'y décris à la fois la « fabrication » des concepts qui sont supposés en rendre compte (e.g., la « mémoire collective » , l' « identité culturelle », la « communauté », le « peuple », etc.) et leur utilisation dans le cadre d'une rhétorique du partage.

Dans la troisième et dernière partie, intitulée Partage des fictions, j'essaie de repérer quelques unes des conditions objectives et subjectives du partage, en m'appuyant principalement sur les hypothèses relatives au degré de pertinence des rhétoriques holistes. Quelques unes seulement, car j'ai délibérément exclu de mon propos des phénomènes aussi importants que la possession d'une langue ou d'une histoire commune par les membres d'un groupe. A ces chemins bien balisés et largement parcourus, j'ai préféré un itinéraire plus risqué, plus hasardeux, celui qui consiste à explorer les modalités de la cognition partagée. Ce type d'exercice pose nombre de problèmes, dont la plupart restent irrésolus. Ils ouvrent néanmoins des perspectives de recherche en anthropologie cognitive que je me contente d'évoquer à la fin de cette troisième partie.
Type de document :
HDR
Anthropologie sociale et ethnologie. Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, 1999
Liste complète des métadonnées

Littérature citée [199 références]  Voir  Masquer  Télécharger

https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00139992
Contributeur : <>
Soumis le : mercredi 4 avril 2007 - 13:37:18
Dernière modification le : mercredi 4 avril 2007 - 16:35:46
Document(s) archivé(s) le : mardi 6 avril 2010 - 23:40:36

Identifiants

  • HAL Id : tel-00139992, version 1
  • Mot de passe : rtiz8o@

Collections

Citation

Joël Candau. Épistémè du partage. Anthropologie sociale et ethnologie. Université Nice Sophia Antipolis, 1999. 〈tel-00139992〉

Partager

Métriques

Consultations de la notice

556

Téléchargements de fichiers

1624