Etude numérique de la dynamique tourbillonnaire et du mélange dans les jets coaxiaux turbulents

Abstract : This work is devoted to the study of round coaxial jets with high velocity ratios using numerical simulations. The work focuses on three particular points: the transition towards fully-developed turbulence state, the mixing properties in this flow configuration, and the influence of the Reynolds number upon the two previous points.

First, direct numerical simulations of coaxial jets with moderate Reynolds numbers are carried out. It was observed that coaxial jets develop a back-flow region when the ratio between the outer and the inner jet velocities exceeds a critical value. The development of the inner and outer Kelvin-Helmholtz rings, arising from the initial instabilities is not independent. The inner rings are controlled by the outer shear layer as they travel downstream. Streamwise counter-rotating vortices develop further downstream, as in the transition scenario of the single round jet, and lead to an high three-dimensionalization of the turbulent field. When it is present, the back-flow region tends to slow down the inner Kelvin-Helmholtz rings and to stretch them in the streamwise direction. Two theoretical models were developed in order to predict some global quantities of the jet, as the inner potential core length and the critical velocity ratio for the appearance of the back-flow region. Both models underline the influence of the inner momentum thickness for the initial jet development.

A tracer transport equation was solved simultaneously with the Navier-Stokes equations to study the mixing properties of coaxial jets. The coherent structures control the mixing process. The streamwise vortices improve therefore the mixing by ejections of tracer around the jet. However spots of unmixed fluid persist at the end of the transition with the initial flow configuration. Modification of the upstream conditions allows the intense or early streamwise vortices to diminish the amount of unmixed fluid. The same effect is caused by the back-flow region due to its increased streamwise vortex stretching phenomena. For the same reason, an azimuthal forcing of the outer shear layer improves the mixing and seems to be more suited to the near-field than an axisymmetric forcing.

Finally, we perform large-eddy simulations of coaxial jets with high Reynolds numbers. The self-similarity allows to validate our simulations by comparison with experimental data in the fully-developed turbulence region. The Reynolds number influences the global quantities of the jet as long as it is smaller than 10000. For larger Reynolds numbers these quantities are almost Reynolds number independent because of the ``mixing transition'' phenomenon caused by a three-dimensional disturbance from the beginning of the jet. The early disturbance of the shear layers causes the back-flow region to be non-stationary. Moreover, this allows to improve the mixing with the ejections phenomenon near the entrance of the jet.
Document type :
Theses
Other. Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble - INPG, 2006. French


https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00121393
Contributor : Guillaume Balarac <>
Submitted on : Wednesday, December 20, 2006 - 2:39:59 PM
Last modification on : Wednesday, December 20, 2006 - 3:44:37 PM

Identifiers

  • HAL Id : tel-00121393, version 1

Collections

LEGI | UGA

Citation

Guillaume Balarac. Etude numérique de la dynamique tourbillonnaire et du mélange dans les jets coaxiaux turbulents. Other. Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble - INPG, 2006. French. <tel-00121393>

Export

Share

Metrics

Consultation de
la notice

179

Téléchargement du document

170

Skip to Main content Skip to Navigation
Theses

Etude numérique de la dynamique tourbillonnaire et du mélange dans les jets coaxiaux turbulents

Résumé : Ce travail porte sur l'étude par simulation numérique de jets ronds coaxiaux à fort rapport de vitesse avec une attention particulière portée sur trois aspects : la transition de ces jets vers la turbulence, le mélange dans cette configuration d'écoulement et l'influence du nombre de Reynolds sur ces deux précédents points.

Dans un premier temps, nous réalisons des simulations numériques directes de jets coaxiaux à un nombre de Reynolds modéré. Ces jets générent une région de recirculation lorsque le rapport des vitesses entre les jets externe et interne dépasse une valeur critique. Les anneaux de Kelvin-Helmholtz intérieurs et extérieurs ont un développement couplé. Ils sont convectés avec une même fréquence de passage contrôlée par la couche cisaillée extérieure. Ensuite, comme pour les jets ronds, des tourbillons longitudinaux contra-rotatifs apparaissent initiant la tridimensionnalisation de l'écoulement. La région de recirculation influence les anneaux de Kelvin-Helmholtz internes en les ralentissant et en les étirant longitudinalement. Deux modèles théoriques prédisant des grandeurs globales du jet (la longueur du cône potentiel interne et la valeur du rapport de vitesse critique au-delà duquel la région de recirculation apparaît) montrent l'influence de l'épaisseur de quantité de mouvement intérieure initiale.

Les propriétés de mélange ont ensuite été étudiées en résolvant l'équation de transport d'un traceur simultanément aux équations de Navier-Stokes. Les structures cohérentes de l'écoulement contrôlent le processus de mélange. Les tourbillons longitudinaux augmentent le mélange par un phénomène d'éjection du traceur en périphérie du jet. Cependant, la configuration initiale du jet montre que des poches de traceur non mélangé persistent à la fin de la transition. Les modifications des conditions d'entrée du jet diminuant ces poches sont celles qui permettent une génération plus précoce ou plus intense de structures longitudinales. C'est le cas de la région de recirculation qui étire longitudinalement les structures. De la même façon, un forçage azimutal de la couche cisaillée externe (qui domine la dynamique) améliore nettement le mélange et semble être plus performant qu'un forçage axisymétrique en ce qui concerne le mélange en champ proche.

Pour finir, nous avons réalisé des simulations des grandes échelles de jets coaxiaux à hauts nombres de Reynolds. L'auto-similitude des jets coaxiaux en turbulence pleinement développée a permis une validation sur les données expérimentales. Les quantités globales des jets coaxiaux sont fortement dépendantes du nombre de Reynolds jusqu'à ce que celui-ci atteigne une valeur de l'ordre de 10000. Au-delà de cette valeur, ces quantités sont quasi-indépendantes du nombre de Reynolds en raison du phénomène de ``mixing transition'' qui implique une déstabilisation tridimensionnelle immédiate du jet. Cette déstabilisation précoce des couches cisaillées conduit la région de recirculation à un comportement instationnaire. Enfin, cela permet une nette amélioration du mélange avec un phénomène d'éjection du traceur proche de l'entrée du jet.
Document type :
Theses
Complete list of metadatas

https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00121393
Contributor : Guillaume Balarac <>
Submitted on : Wednesday, December 20, 2006 - 2:39:59 PM
Last modification on : Friday, July 3, 2020 - 4:43:14 PM
Document(s) archivé(s) le : Thursday, September 20, 2012 - 4:30:50 PM

Identifiers

  • HAL Id : tel-00121393, version 1

Collections

CNRS | LEGI | UGA

Citation

Guillaume Balarac. Etude numérique de la dynamique tourbillonnaire et du mélange dans les jets coaxiaux turbulents. Autre. Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble - INPG, 2006. Français. ⟨tel-00121393⟩

Share

Metrics

Record views

512

Files downloads

2775