Contribution à la génération automatique de maillages de qualité pour la simulation numérique

Abstract : The simulation of a physical phenomenon by the finite element method or other numerical analysis methods requires a spatial decomposition, or mesh, of the studied domain. In order that the simulation process converges rapidly and reaches the desired accuracy, the size and shape quality of the mesh plays a crucial role.
This report constitutes a survey of my contributions concerning the automatic generation of meshes respecting as well as possible these quality criteria. These different research works have been carried out in the Gamma group at INRIA.
In this document, the following themes are successively addressed:
- the discretization of curves in the plane or in the 3D space,
- the meshing of planar domains with fix or variable contours,
- the meshing of parametric or discrete warped surfaces.
During these discretization and meshing operations, the size and shape of the elements are controlled by a metric field reflecting geometric and/or physical constraints. The presented methods have all been validated on many academic or industrial examples, notably in solid and fluid mechanics.
Document type :
Accreditation to supervise research
Modélisation et simulation. Université Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris VI, 2006


https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00012000
Contributor : Patrick Laug <>
Submitted on : Tuesday, March 21, 2006 - 3:10:01 PM
Last modification on : Tuesday, March 22, 2016 - 1:27:06 AM
Document(s) archivé(s) le : Saturday, April 3, 2010 - 10:58:15 PM

Identifiers

  • HAL Id : tel-00012000, version 1

Collections

Citation

Patrick Laug. Contribution à la génération automatique de maillages de qualité pour la simulation numérique. Modélisation et simulation. Université Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris VI, 2006. <tel-00012000>

Export

Share

Metrics

Record views

194

Document downloads

460

Skip to Main content Skip to Navigation
Habilitation à diriger des recherches

Contribution à la génération automatique de maillages de qualité pour la simulation numérique

Résumé : La simulation d'un phénomène physique par la méthode des éléments finis ou d'autres méthodes d'analyse numérique nécessite une décomposition spatiale, ou maillage, du domaine étudié. Pour que le processus de simulation converge rapidement et atteigne la précision voulue, la qualité en taille et en forme du maillage joue un rôle primordial.
Ce mémoire constitue une synthèse de mes contributions concernant la génération automatique de maillages respectant le mieux possible ces critères de qualité. Ces différents travaux de recherche ont été réalisés au sein du projet Gamma de l'INRIA.
Dans ce document, les thèmes suivants sont abordés successivement :
- la discrétisation de courbes du plan ou de l'espace 3D,
- le maillage de domaines plans de contours fixes ou variables,
- le maillage de surfaces gauches paramétrées ou discrètes.
Au cours de ces opérations de discrétisation et de maillage, la taille et la forme des éléments sont contrôlées par un champ de métriques traduisant des contraintes géométriques et/ou physiques. Les méthodes présentées ont toutes été validées sur de nombreux exemples académiques ou industriels, notamment en mécanique des solides et en mécanique des fluides.
Document type :
Habilitation à diriger des recherches
Complete list of metadatas

https://tel.archives-ouvertes.fr/tel-00012000
Contributor : Patrick Laug <>
Submitted on : Tuesday, March 21, 2006 - 3:10:01 PM
Last modification on : Friday, May 29, 2020 - 3:58:08 PM
Document(s) archivé(s) le : Saturday, April 3, 2010 - 10:58:15 PM

Identifiers

  • HAL Id : tel-00012000, version 1

Citation

Patrick Laug. Contribution à la génération automatique de maillages de qualité pour la simulation numérique. Modélisation et simulation. Université Pierre et Marie Curie - Paris VI, 2006. ⟨tel-00012000⟩

Share

Metrics

Record views

338

Files downloads

2233